top of page


(Rite of

Christian Initiation for Adults)

The Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA) is a formal program within the Catholic Church. It serves as a pathway for adults (and children who have reached the age of reason) to be initiated into the Catholic faith. Here are some key points about the RCIA program:

  1. Purpose and Process:

    • The RCIA program guides individuals through a journey of faith formation and conversion.

    • It involves catechetical instruction, ascetical practices (such as prayer and spirituality), and liturgical celebrations.

    • The ultimate goal is to prepare catechumens (adults seeking initiation) to receive the Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist.

  2. Who Participates?:

    • Catechumens: These are adults who have not been baptized and are seeking full initiation into the Catholic Church.

    • Candidates: These are individuals who have already been baptized in another Christian tradition and are seeking full communion with the Catholic Church. They participate in a modified RCIA process.

  3. Content and Duration:

    • The RCIA program covers various aspects of the Catholic faith, including beliefs, sacraments, morality, and more.

    • It typically spans several months, allowing participants to learn, reflect, and grow in their understanding of Catholic teachings.

  4. Rites and Celebrations:

    • Throughout the RCIA process, there are specific rites and liturgical moments:

      • Rite of Acceptance: Marks the formal acceptance of catechumens into the order of catechumens.

      • Rite of Election: Occurs during Lent and signifies the Church’s recognition of catechumens’ readiness for initiation.

      • Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist are received at the Easter Vigil.

      • Mystagogy: A period of ongoing formation and reflection after initiation.

bottom of page